Kent Interdisciplinary Research Centre in Cyber Security (KirCCS)

Search

Kent Interdisciplinary Research Centre in Cyber Security (KirCCS)
Member Research Interests Contact Information

Budi Arief
Senior Lecturer; Centre Director of External Liaison
School of Computing
Cyber crime, human factors in security, internet of things security and privacy. B.Arief@kent.ac.uk

David Chadwick
Professor of Information Systems Security
School of Computing
Public Key Infrastructures, PERMIS, open source authorisation infrastructure (PMI), autonomic security, trust and reputation management, cloud security. D.W.Chadwick@kent.ac.uk

Carlos Perez Delgado
Lecturer
School of Computing
Quantum Computation and Information, with Security Applications. C.Perez@kent.ac.uk

Farzin Deravi
Professor of Information Engineering; Head of School
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Biometrics F.Deravi@kent.ac.uk

Theodosios Dimitrakos
Professor of Computer Science
School of Computing
Cloud security T.Dimitrakos@kent.ac.uk

Richard Guest
Reader in Biometric Systems Engineering; Deputy Head of School
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Biometrics, Identity Management R.M.Guest@kent.ac.uk

Julio Cesar Hernandez-Castro
Professor; Centre Deputy Director
School of Computing
RFID, Computer Security, Cryptography, Steganography, Computer Forensics, Cyber Crime. J.C.Hernandez-Castro@kent.ac.uk

Sanaul Hoque
Lecturer in Secure Systems Engineering
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Biometrics, computer vision, OCR, multi-expert fusion, document modelling. S.Hoque@kent.ac.uk

Gareth Howells
Professor of Secure Electronic Systems; Centre Deputy Director
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Biometrics, template-free encryption, authentication. W.G.J.Howells@kent.ac.uk

Özgür Kafalı
Lecturer in Cyber Security
School of Computing
Socio-technical and human factors in cybersecurity, security requirements engineering, formal breach analysis, digital forensics. R.O.Kafali@kent.ac.uk

Andy King
Professor in Program Analysis; Centre Director of Research
School of Computing
Vulnerability discovery using program analysis techniques, reverse engineering tools for white-hat hackers. A.M.King@kent.ac.uk

Rogério de Lemos
Senior Lecturer
School of Computing
Architecting dependable and secure systems, Self-adaptive software systems, Bioinspired computing applied to dependability and security. R.Delemos@kent.ac.uk

Shujun Li
Professor of Cyber Security; Centre Director
School of Computing
Cyber security, human factors, multimedia computing, digital forensics and cybercrime, and applications of artificial intelligence S.J.Li@kent.ac.uk

Jason Nurse
Lecturer
School of Computing
Interaction between users and aspects of cyber security, privacy and trust such as identity security and privacy risks in cyberspace, privacy and security in the internet-of-things and social media, fake news and rumours on social media, and technical and psychological aspects of cybercrime J.R.C.Nurse@kent.ac.uk
Member Research Interests Contact Information
Chee Siang (Jim) Ang
Senior Lecturer in Multimedia/Digital Systems
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Information assurance science, building trusted and trustworthy systems, IoT. C.S.Ang@kent.ac.uk
John Batchelor
Professor of Antenna Technology & Director of PGR Studies
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Hardware engineering, side channel and fault analysis”, operational technology security. J.C.Batchelor@kent.ac.uk
David Barnes
Senior Lecturer
School of Computing
Information risk, information assurance science, engineering processes and assurance. D.J.Barnes@kent.ac.uk
Mark Batty
Lloyds Register Foundation and Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellow & Senior Lecturer
School of Computing
Information risk, information assurance science. M.J.Batty@kent.ac.uk
Markus Bindemann
Senior Lecturer in Psychology
School of Psychology
Strategic technologies and products (biometrics), building trusted and trustworthy systems. M.Bindemann@kent.ac.uk
Laura Bocchi
Senior Lecturer
School of Computing
Engineering processes and assurance, building trusted and trustworthy systems, behavioural APIs for secure communicating systems. L.Bocchi@kent.ac.uk
Howard Bowman
Professor of Cognition & Logic
School of Computing
Human behaviour in cyber forensics, information risk. H.Bowman@kent.ac.uk
Adam Burgess
Director, Critical Studies in Risk and Uncertainty research cluster & Professor of Risk Research
School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research
Guidance on risk management for cyber security. A.Burgess@kent.ac.uk
Jack Cunliffe
Lecturer in Quantitative Methods and Criminology
School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research
Cybercrime, illicit trade, Tor, operations security, social implications of blockchain and cryptocurrencies. J.D.Cunliffe@kent.ac.uk
Lisa Dickson
Senior Lecturer
Law School
Forensic science and the law, evidence and the trial process L.M.Dickson@kent.ac.uk
Karen Douglas
Professor of Social Psychology
School of Psychology
Information assurance science, building trusted and trustworthy systems. K.Douglas@kent.ac.uk
Christos Efstratiou
Lecturer in Ubiquitous Computing
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Information risk, building trusted and trustworthy systems, operational technology security, IoT. C.Efstratiou@kent.ac.uk
Alex Freitas
Professor of Computational Intelligence and Head of Computational Intelligence research group
School of Computing
Applications of classification methods and biologically-inspired algorithms to cyber security. A.A.Freitas@kent.ac.uk
Steven Gao
Professor of RF/Microwave Engineering
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Hardware engineering, side channel and fault analysis. S.Gao@kent.ac.uk
Stuart Gibson
Senior Lecturer in Forensic Science
School of Physical Sciences
Face processing and photo forensics, information assurance science. S.J.Gibson@kent.ac.uk
Radu Grigore
Lecturer
School of Computing
Strategic technologies and products, side channel and fault analysis. R.Grigore@kent.ac.uk
Tim Hopthrow
Senior Lecturer & Associate Dean for Research and Innovation
School of Psycholog
Information risk, risk-based decision-making in groups. T.Hopthrow@kent.ac.uk
Robin Mackenzie
Professor of Law
Law School
Cyber security issues in the contexts of personal companion, health robotics and social media. R.Mackenzie@kent.ac.uk
Alan McKenna
Lecturer in Law
Law School
Information assurance science, building trusted and trustworthy systems, cross domain working. A.V.Mckenna@kent.ac.uk
Matteo Migliavacca
Senior Lecturer
School of Computing
Secure event processing, runtime taint tracking and information flow control in programming languages. M.Migliavacca@kent.ac.uk
Vince Miller
Reader in Sociology and Cultural Studies & Deputy Head of School
School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research
Critical theorisation of the concept of security and vulnerability, ethics, presence, identity and ontology, and different forms of socially-related online crime and theories of contagion as related to the internet. V.Miller@kent.ac.uk
Dominic Orchard
Lecturer
School of Computing
Privacy protection, strategic technologies and products. D.A.Orchard@kent.ac.uk
Scott Owens
Reader & Director of Education
School of Computing
Strategic technologies and products, side channel and fault analysis. S.A.Owens@kent.ac.uk
Thanos Papadopoulos
Professor of Management (Operations Management / Information Systems)
Kent Business School
Information risk, information assurance science. A.Papadopoulos@kent.ac.uk
Palaniappan Ramaswamy
Reader & Head of Data Science research group
School of Computing
Strategic technologies and products, biometrics in identity assurance, building trusted and trustworthy systems. R.Palani@kent.ac.uk
David Roberts
Reader in Biodiversity Conservation
School of Anthropology & Conservation
Illegal online wildlife trade on both the clear and darknet, application of extinction modelling to security. D.L.Roberts@kent.ac.uk
Peter Rodgers
Reader, Director of Research and Deputy Head of School
School of Computing
Applications of visualization in cyber security, information risk. P.J.Rodgers@kent.ac.uk
Jeremy Rossman
Senior Lecturer in Virology
School of Biosciences
Bio-inspired methods, information risk, information assurance science. J.S.Rossman@kent.ac.uk
Maria Paola Scaparra
Reader in Management Science & Head of Management Science research group
Business School
Information risk, information assurance science. M.P.Scaparra@kent.ac.uk
Konstantinos Sirlantzis
Senior Lecturer in Intelligent Systems
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Strategic technologies and products, biometrics in identity assurance, building trusted and trustworthy systems. K.Sirlantzis@kent.ac.uk
Christopher Solomon
Reader in Physics
School of Physical Sciences
Information assurance science, building trusted and trustworthy systems, cross domain working. C.J.Solomon@kent.ac.uk
Anne Templeton
Research Fellow
School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research
Information assurance science. A.Templeton@kent.ac.uk
Simon Thompson
Professor of Logic and Computation & Director of Innovation
School of Computing
Strategic technologies and products, side channel and fault analysis. S.J.Thompson@kent.ac.uk
Mario Weick
Senior Lecturer in Psychology and Director of Education
School of Psychology
Information risk, information assurance science, building trusted and trustworthy systems, cross domain working. M.Weick@kent.ac.uk
Shaomin Wu
Reader in Business/Applied Statistics
Business School
Information risk, information assurance science, building trusted and trustworthy systems, cross domain working. S.M.Wu@kent.ac.uk
Jian Zhang
Professor of Statistics
School of Mathematics, Statistics & Actuarial Science
Applying statistical methods to cyber security applications, information Risk. J.Zhang-79@kent.ac.uk
Member Project Contact Information
Adham Albakri
School of Computing
NeCS (EU MCSA ITN) A.Albakri@kent.ac.uk
Osama Abu Oun
School of Computing
EMPHASIS (EPSRC) O.Abu-Oun@kent.ac.uk
Orcun Cetin
School of Computing
EMPHASIS (EPSRC) F.O.Cetin@kent.ac.uk
Teodors Eglitis
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
AMBER (EU MCSA ITN) T.Eglitis@kent.ac.uk
Elakkiya Ellavarason
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
AMBER (EU MCSA ITN) E.Ellavarason@kent.ac.uk
Wenjun Fan
School of Computing
C3ISP (EU) W.Fan@kent.ac.uk
Michael Gillham
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
EDUCAT (Interreg) / SANAS (Wellcome Trust) M.Gillham@kent.ac.uk
Darren Hurley-Smith
School of Computing
RAMSES (EU) D.Hurley-Smith@kent.ac.uk
Tasmina Islam
School of Computing
ACCEPT (EPSRC) T.Islam@kent.ac.uk
Mohamad Imad Mahaini
School of Computing
NeCS (EU MCSA ITN) M.I.Mahaini@kent.ac.uk
Julian Murphy
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
SPIRIT (CHIST-ERA) J.Murphy-2060@kent.ac.uk
Thomas Sloan
School of Computing
SEEK (EPSRC) T.Sloan-461@kent.ac.uk
Lian Xue
School of Economics
EMPHASIS (EPSRC) L.Xue@kent.ac.uk
Joanna Ziembicka
School of Computing
C3ISP (EU) J.I.Ziembicka@kent.ac.uk
Member Contact Information
Adham Albakri
School of Computing
aa795@kent.ac.uk
Rawabi Abdulaziz Abdullah Alsedais
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
raaa3@kent.ac.uk
Hamed Alsufyani
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
ha324@kent.ac.uk
Nawal Alsufyani
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
na381@kent.ac.uk
Samuel Dandare Baba
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
sb2097@kent.ac.uk
Matthew James Boakes
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
mjb228@kent.ac.uk
Calvin Brierley
School of Computing
crb34@kent.ac.uk
Christopher Gregory Coppins
School of Computing
cgc9@kent.ac.uk
Teodors Eglitis
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
te47@kent.ac.uk
Elakkiya Ellavarason
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
ee246@kent.ac.uk
Jaime Da Gama Gaspar
School of Computing
jg478@kent.ac.uk
Pooja Khanna
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
pk327@kent.ac.uk
Chiara Lunerti
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
cl487@kent.ac.uk
Sadie Joanne Macintyre
School of Computing
sjm88@kent.ac.uk
Mohamad Imad Mahaini
School of Computing
mm983@kent.ac.uk
Shi Pan
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
sp641@kent.ac.uk
Jamie Pont
School of Computing
jjp31@kent.ac.uk
Joshua James Robertson
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
jr470@kent.ac.uk
Thomas Sloan
School of Computing
ts424@kent.ac.uk
Supriya Yadav
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
sy227@kent.ac.uk

Kent Interdisciplinary Research Centre in Cyber Security (KirCCS), University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NF

Enquiries: +44 (0)1227 824180 or contact us.

Last Updated: 09/07/2018