Kent Interdisciplinary Research Centre in Cyber Security (KirCCS)

Member Research Interests Contact Information

Budi Arief
Senior Lecturer & Director of Innovation; Centre Director of External Liaison
School of Computing
Cyber crime, human factors in security, internet of things security and privacy B.Arief@kent.ac.uk

Mark Batty
Senior Lecturer & Head of Programming Languages and Systems Group
School of Computing
Formal specification of languages and architectures, verification, validation tools and proofs of security properties M.J.Batty@kent.ac.uk

Sanjay Bhattacherjee
Lecturer in Cyber Security
School of Computing
Cryptography, voting games, blockchains and cryptocurrencies S.Bhattacherjee@kent.ac.uk

David Chadwick
Emeritus Professor of Information Systems Security
School of Computing
Identity management, Verifiable Credentials, public key infrastructures, PERMIS, open source authorisation infrastructure (PMI), autonomic security, trust and reputation management, cloud security D.W.Chadwick@kent.ac.uk

Farzin Deravi
Professor of Information Engineering; Head of School
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Biometrics F.Deravi@kent.ac.uk

Theodosios Dimitrakos
Professor of Computer Science
School of Computing
Cloud security T.Dimitrakos@kent.ac.uk

Virginia Franqueira
Lecturer in Cyber Security
School of Computing
Digital forensics, cybercrime investigation, visual content analysis, and cyber security (engineering, assessment and management) V.Franqueira@kent.ac.uk

Richard Guest
Reader in Biometric Systems Engineering; Deputy Head of School
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Biometrics, Identity Management R.M.Guest@kent.ac.uk

Julio Hernandez-Castro
Professor; Centre Deputy Director
School of Computing
RFID, Computer Security, Cryptography, Steganography, Computer Forensics, Cyber Crime J.C.Hernandez-Castro@kent.ac.uk

Sanaul Hoque
Lecturer in Secure Systems Engineering
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Biometrics, computer vision, OCR, multi-expert fusion, document modelling S.Hoque@kent.ac.uk

Gareth Howells
Professor of Secure Electronic Systems; Centre Deputy Director
School of Computing
Biometrics, template-free encryption, authentication W.G.J.Howells@kent.ac.uk

Özgür Kafalı
Lecturer in Cyber Security
School of Computing
Socio-technical and human factors in cybersecurity, security requirements engineering, formal breach analysis, digital forensics R.O.Kafali@kent.ac.uk

Stephen Kell
Lecturer
School of Computing
Programming language and system security, especially combining static and dynamic program analysis S.R.Kell@kent.ac.uk

Andy King
Professor in Program Analysis; Centre Director of Research
School of Computing
Vulnerability discovery using program analysis techniques, reverse engineering tools for white-hat hackers A.M.King@kent.ac.uk

Rogério de Lemos
Senior Lecturer
School of Computing
Architecting dependable and secure systems, Self-adaptive software systems, Bioinspired computing applied to dependability and security R.Delemos@kent.ac.uk

Shujun Li
Professor of Cyber Security; Centre Director
School of Computing
Socio-technical security, privacy, human factors, digital forensics and cybercrime, false information, information hiding and multimedia security, social media analytics, applications of artificial intelligence / information visualisation / discrete optimisation in cyber security S.J.Li@kent.ac.uk

Jason Nurse
Lecturer; Centre Director of Public Engagement
School of Computing
Interaction between users and aspects of cyber security, privacy and trust such as identity security and privacy risks in cyberspace, privacy and security in the internet-of-things and social media, fake news and rumours on social media, and technical and psychological aspects of cybercrime J.R.C.Nurse@kent.ac.uk

Carlos Pérez-Delgado
Lecturer
School of Computing
Quantum Computation and Information, with Security Applications C.Perez@kent.ac.uk
Member Research Interests Contact Information
Tim Aistrope
Lecturer in International Relations
School of Politics and International Relations
International security, post-truth politics, online radicalisation, legitimising dynamics of social practices T.G.Aistrope@kent.ac.uk
Chee Siang (Jim) Ang
Senior Lecturer in Multimedia/Digital Systems
School of Computing
Information assurance science, building trusted and trustworthy systems, IoT C.S.Ang@kent.ac.uk
Samer Bagaeen
Professor of Planning
Kent School of Architecture
Urban & climate resilience, city diplomacy and wider engagement, urban gating, brownfield regeneration, community & neighbourhood planning S.Bagaeen@kent.ac.uk
John Batchelor
Professor of Antenna Technology
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Hardware engineering, side channel and fault analysis, operational technology security J.C.Batchelor@kent.ac.uk
David Barnes
Senior Lecturer
School of Computing
Information risk, information assurance science, engineering processes and assurance D.J.Barnes@kent.ac.uk
Margherita Belgioioso
Lecturer in International Security and Conflict Analysis
School of Politics and International Relations
International security, conflict analysis m.belgioioso@kent.ac.uk
Laura Bocchi
Senior Lecturer
School of Computing
Engineering processes and assurance, building trusted and trustworthy systems, behavioural APIs for secure communicating systems L.Bocchi@kent.ac.uk
Howard Bowman
Professor of Cognition & Logic
School of Computing
Human behaviour in cyber forensics, information risk H.Bowman@kent.ac.uk
Anna Brown
Reader in Psychological Methods and Statistics
School of Psychology
Psychological measurement, psychometric testing, test validity, test fairness, response biases, impression management and faking A.A.Brown@kent.ac.uk
Adam Burgess
Director, Critical Studies in Risk and Uncertainty research cluster & Professor of Risk Research
School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research (SSPSSR)
Guidance on risk management for cyber security A.Burgess@kent.ac.uk
Jack Cunliffe
Lecturer in Quantitative Methods and Criminology
School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research (SSPSSR)
Cybercrime, illicit trade, Tor, operations security, social implications of blockchain and cryptocurrencies J.D.Cunliffe@kent.ac.uk
Lisa Dickson
Reader and Co-Deputy Head of School
Kent Law School
Data protection, privacy, cyber crime, forensic science L.M.Dickson@kent.ac.uk
Karen Douglas
Professor of Social Psychology
School of Psychology
Information assurance science, building trusted and trustworthy systems K.Douglas@kent.ac.uk
Christos Efstratiou
Senior Lecturer in Ubiquitous Computing
School of Computing
Information risk, building trusted and trustworthy systems, operational technology security, IoT C.Efstratiou@kent.ac.uk
Chris Farmer
Clinical Professor
Centre for Health Services Studies (CHSS), School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research (SSPSSR)
& Consultant Renal Physician
East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust (EKHUFT)
Digital healthcare including applications of AI in healthcare, ethics and privacy, data security, accessibility C.Farmer-357@kent.ac.uk
Alex Freitas
Professor of Computational Intelligence and Head of Computational Intelligence research group
School of Computing
Applications of classification methods and biologically-inspired algorithms to cyber security A.A.Freitas@kent.ac.uk
Steven Gao
Professor of RF and Microwave Engineering
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Hardware engineering, side channel and fault analysis S.Gao@kent.ac.uk
Stuart Gibson
Senior Lecturer in Forensic Science
School of Physical Sciences
Face processing and photo forensics, information assurance science S.J.Gibson@kent.ac.uk
Marek Grzes
Lecturer
School of Computing
Sequential decision making and decision theory, machine learning and optimisation, probabilistic graphical models, applications of machine learning and artificial intelligence M.Grzes@kent.ac.uk
Radu Grigore
Senior Lecturer
School of Computing
Strategic technologies and products, side channel and fault analysis R.Grigore@kent.ac.uk
Andy Hone
Professor of Mathematics & EPSRC Established Career Fellow (2014-2020)
School of Mathematics, Statistics & Actuarial Science
Factorization algorithms, primality testing, pseudorandom number generators, elliptic curves. a.n.w.hone@kent.ac.uk
Tim Hopthrow
Reader in Psychology, School of Psychology
Associate Dean for Research and Innovation, Faculty of Social Sciences
Information risk, risk-based decision-making in groups T.Hopthrow@kent.ac.uk
Timothy King
Senior Lecturer in Finance, Banking and Innovation
Kent Business School
Banks, corporate governance, corporate finance, corporate social responsibility (CSR), Fintech, risk-taking T.P.King@kent.ac.uk
Lisa Lin
Lecturer in Media Studies
School of Arts
Shifting production cultures of Internet-distributed television and how digital technologies have empowered a new era of creative freedoms among media practitioners l.lin@kent.ac.uk
Alan McKenna
Lecturer in Law
Kent Law School
Information assurance science, building trusted and trustworthy systems, cross domain working A.V.Mckenna@kent.ac.uk
Matteo Migliavacca
Senior Lecturer
School of Computing
Secure event processing, runtime taint tracking and information flow control in programming languages M.Migliavacca@kent.ac.uk
Vince Miller
Reader in Sociology and Cultural Studies & Head of School
School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research (SSPSSR)
Critical theorisation of the concept of security and vulnerability, ethics, presence, identity and ontology, and different forms of socially-related online crime and theories of contagion as related to the internet V.Miller@kent.ac.uk
Gareth Mott
Lecturer in Security and Intelligence
School of Politics and International Relations
Discursively constructed identities in cyberspace, governance of Blockchain and other peer-to-peer technologies, countering violent extremist applications of novel software G.Mott@kent.ac.uk
Dominic Orchard
Lecturer
School of Computing
Privacy protection, strategic technologies and products D.A.Orchard@kent.ac.uk
Thanos Papadopoulos
Professor of Management (Operations Management / Information Systems)
Kent Business School
Information risk, information assurance science A.Papadopoulos@kent.ac.uk
Palaniappan Ramaswamy
Reader & Head of Data Science research group
School of Computing
Strategic technologies and products, biometrics in identity assurance, building trusted and trustworthy systems R.Palani@kent.ac.uk
Jane Reeves
Co-Director, Centre for Child Protection & Professor of Teaching, Learning and Innovation in Child Protection (CCP)
School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research (SSPSSR)
Online child protection, cybercrime J.Reeves@kent.ac.uk
David Roberts
Reader in Biodiversity Conservation
School of Anthropology & Conservation
Illegal online wildlife trade on both the clear and darknet, application of extinction modelling to security D.L.Roberts@kent.ac.uk
Peter Rodgers
Professor of Visual Computing, Director of Research & Deputy Head of School
School of Computing
Applications of visualization in cyber security, information risk P.J.Rodgers@kent.ac.uk
Jeremy Rossman
Senior Lecturer in Virology
School of Biosciences
Bio-inspired methods, information risk, information assurance science J.S.Rossman@kent.ac.uk
Maria Paola Scaparra
Professor in Management Science & Head of Management Science research group
Kent Business School
Information risk, information assurance science M.P.Scaparra@kent.ac.uk
Mahmood Shafiee
Reader in Mechanical Engineering & Head of Mechanical Engineering Group
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Cyber-physical systems, industrial IoT, industrial control systems, infrastructure protection, intelligent transport systems m.shafiee@kent.ac.uk
Konstantinos Sirlantzis
Senior Lecturer in Intelligent Systems & Director of Graduate Studies (Research)
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Strategic technologies and products, biometrics in identity assurance, building trusted and trustworthy systems K.Sirlantzis@kent.ac.uk
Christopher Solomon
Reader in Physics
School of Physical Sciences
Information assurance science, building trusted and trustworthy systems, cross domain working C.J.Solomon@kent.ac.uk
Simon Thompson
Emeritus Professor of Logic and Computation
School of Computing
Strategic technologies and products, side channel and fault analysis S.J.Thompson@kent.ac.uk
Harmonie Toros
Reader in International Conflict Analysis
School of Politics and International Relations
Terrorism studies and critical terrorism studies, conflict resolution and conflict transformation, critical security studies and ethnography of violence H.Toros@kent.ac.uk
Paraskevi Triantafyllopoulou
Lecturer in Intellectual and Developmental Disability
The Tizard Centre, School of Social Policy, Sociology and Social Research (SSPSSR)
Intellectual disabilities, healthcare, online risks P.Triantafyllopoulou@kent.ac.uk
Zaki Wahhaj
Reader in Economics
School of Economics
Economic development and applied theory, social norms and household decision-making in developing countries, including work on extended family networks, risk-sharing and formal insurance, microfinance, the impact of formal law on customary practices and issues relating to early marriage and female education Z.Wahhaj@kent.ac.uk
Jiangzhou Wang FREng
Professor of Telecommunications
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Physical level security in wireless and mobile communications J.Z.Wang@kent.ac.uk
Pamela M. White
Lecturer Medical Law
Kent Law School
Data protection, privacy, cyberlaw, law and medical ethics p.white-229@kent.ac.uk
Shaomin Wu
Professor in Business/Applied Statistics
Kent Business School
Information risk, information assurance science, building trusted and trustworthy systems, cross domain working S.M.Wu@kent.ac.uk
Jian Zhang
Professor of Statistics & Head of Statistics group
School of Mathematics, Statistics & Actuarial Science
Applying statistical methods to cyber security applications, information Risk J.Zhang-79@kent.ac.uk
Member Project Contact Information
Osama Abu Oun
School of Computing
Quantum Communications Hub 2 (EPSRC) O.Abu-Oun@kent.ac.uk
Ben Barnes
School of Computing
Robust Video Watermarking (Huawei funded) B.Barnes-427@kent.ac.uk
Hazal Su Bicakci
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
ECG/Heartrate biometric authentication from wearable devices (Turkish government) hb488@kent.ac.uk
Teodors Eglitis
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
AMBER (EU MCSA ITN) T.Eglitis@kent.ac.uk
Elakkiya Ellavarason
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
AMBER (EU MCSA ITN) E.Ellavarason@kent.ac.uk
Michael Gillham
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
EDUCAT (Interreg) / SANAS (Wellcome Trust) M.Gillham@kent.ac.uk
Yang Lu
School of Computing
PriVELT (EPSRC) Y.Lu@kent.ac.uk
Marco Santopietro
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
Behavioural biometrics (CallSign) ms2101@kent.ac.uk
Member Contact Information
Adham Albakri
School of Computing
aa795@kent.ac.uk
Enes Altuncu
School of Computing
ea483@kent.ac.uk
Samuel Dandare Baba
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
sb2097@kent.ac.uk
Daniel Bard
School of Computing
dab49@kent.ac.uk
Matthew James Boakes
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
mjb228@kent.ac.uk
Calvin Brierley
School of Computing
crb34@kent.ac.uk
Christopher Gregory Coppins
School of Computing
cgc9@kent.ac.uk
Sam Dawson
School of Computing
sgd6@kent.ac.uk
Teodors Eglitis
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
te47@kent.ac.uk
Elakkiya Ellavarason
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
ee246@kent.ac.uk
Keenan Jones
School of Computing
ksj5@kent.ac.uk
Pooja Khanna
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
pk327@kent.ac.uk
Sadie Joanne Macintyre
School of Computing
sjm88@kent.ac.uk
Mohamad Imad Mahaini
School of Computing
mm983@kent.ac.uk
Sharifah Roziah Binti Mohd Kassim
School of Computing
sm2212@kent.ac.uk
Nandita Pattnaik
School of Computing
np407@kent.ac.uk
Jamie Pont
School of Computing
jjp31@kent.ac.uk
Marco Santopietro
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
ms2101@kent.ac.uk
Francesca Stevens
School of Computing
fs338@kent.ac.uk
Sarah Turner
School of Computing
slt41@kent.ac.uk
Supriya Yadav
School of Engineering and Digital Arts
sy227@kent.ac.uk

Kent Interdisciplinary Research Centre in Cyber Security (KirCCS), University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NF

Enquiries: +44 (0)1227 824180 or contact us.

Last Updated: 07/08/2020